Snapchat introduced a new feature called Shared Stories that allows users to collaborate and share stories. The new feature is a new iteration of Custom Stories, a product that previously allowed Snapchatters to create a Story and add friends to view and contribute. With the new iteration, users can now collaborate on that story.
As with all Stories on Snapchat, Snaps posted to a Shared Story will be deleted after 24 hours. Unlike regular friend Stories and Groups, there is no chat component that keeps all conversations between friends.
The company says it will notify users if they’ve joined a Shared Story with someone they have blocked so that the users have the opportunity to leave the Shared Story.
You can start a Shared Story by going to your profile, tapping the new story option, and then selecting “Shared Story.”